PDA

View Full Version : virus warnin


PATRIOT73
20th July 2008, 01:09 PM
a email from hallmark sayin u ave a postcard from hallmark
******************DO NOT OPEN******************
delete soon as

contains a virus wat ull neva shift
will knacker ur pc n ull ave to buy new pc

just had email from a m8 warning us...........n hes a techy geek

shezz
20th July 2008, 01:14 PM
a email from hallmark sayin u ave a postcard from hallmark
******************DO NOT OPEN******************
delete soon as

contains a virus wat ull neva shift
will knacker ur pc n ull ave to buy new pc

just had email from a m8 warning us...........n hes a techy geek


thanks for that Jay, just got my lappy back, dont wanna lose it again :D

damian_steele
20th July 2008, 01:15 PM
The warning is genuine, the virus is real.

More information: http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/postcard.asp

deeangelvampire
20th July 2008, 01:15 PM
Thanks fer the warning :)

sleekpony
20th July 2008, 01:16 PM
Thanks for the warning xxx

PATRIOT73
20th July 2008, 01:17 PM
prob neva get it.........but thats the latest 1 doin rounds

PATRIOT73
20th July 2008, 01:18 PM
The warning is genuine, the virus is real.

More information: http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/postcard.asp
cheers ds for link

buttons-and-bows
20th July 2008, 01:19 PM
Thank you Jason :)

UniquenMornique
20th July 2008, 01:21 PM
Thanks for that will look out for it. (crap on computers so thank you) PATRIOT73 your a *****star!!!!!!!!!!

ejean9
20th July 2008, 01:39 PM
Cheers for that..virus knackered my last pc....

PATRIOT73
20th July 2008, 01:46 PM
Thank you Jason :)
http://bestsmileys.com/wink/2.gif

shezz
20th July 2008, 01:49 PM
http://bestsmileys.com/wink/2.gif


snagged lol

kengillam
20th July 2008, 03:13 PM
No 1 Rule: never click on links in emails PERIOD!

PATRIOT73
20th July 2008, 03:21 PM
but it says
u recieved a postcard from a family member
ignore ur family do u

kengillam
20th July 2008, 03:24 PM
Yep :D

shezz
20th July 2008, 03:26 PM
No 1 Rule: never click on links in emails PERIOD!

revise that ken

never click on links in emails you dont recognise



I have just done some insurance quotes and the emails were sent to me with links back to to the insurance company

and the same as when i got my eticket for america, they had a link that i could click into to check status of flight ect ect

minx41
20th July 2008, 03:51 PM
Thanks for that info Jason, we will just have to be careful at all times ;)

PATRIOT73
20th July 2008, 03:57 PM
Thanks for that info Jason, we will just have to be careful at all times ;)
must be sunday:p

buttons-and-bows
20th July 2008, 03:59 PM
must be sunday:p
Tizzzzz

MagnetsAndHangers
20th July 2008, 04:26 PM
I looked into this one a while back - googled for ''postcard virus'' - there are many sites that are saying this is a hoax warning - and passing on the warning to friends etc is only propogating it. It is a variation of an old virus hoax which was been around for several years now.
Still better to be safe than sorry.

CoastalCoder
20th July 2008, 04:26 PM
This is almost certainly a hoax email. The snopes article relates to a different email, not one relating to Hallmark... many of the hoax emails include a link to this article to make the hoax seem more 'real'.

However, as already pointed out, it is not a good idea to click on links in emails if you're unsure of the origin.

Also, always insure that you have up-to-date virus software installed.

damian_steele
20th July 2008, 05:14 PM
This is almost certainly a hoax email. The snopes article relates to a different email, not one relating to Hallmark...

Check just below the main article and you'll see the other email subject lines which are also used by this virus; the Hallmark title IS listed.

redmerlin777
20th July 2008, 05:21 PM
Thanks patriot
Even if it is hoax....these are reminders to be extra vigilante opening emails (or not) at all times.
If something is from your family it will give the name surely?
I am Mum, Aunty Di or Grandma...I never sign myself... love from family member!!!

So if something is rather Iffy DON'T (DON@T) click!

If it's genuine they will email again.

CoastalCoder
20th July 2008, 06:08 PM
Check just below the main article and you'll see the other email subject lines which are also used by this virus; the Hallmark title IS listed.

Beg pardon, I stand corrected. The Hallmark one has been a long running hoax, however, that clearly doesn't rule out a 'live' one.

PATRIOT73
20th July 2008, 06:25 PM
Thanks patriot
Even if it is hoax....these are reminders to be extra vigilante opening emails (or not) at all times.
If something is from your family it will give the name surely?
I am Mum, Aunty Di or Grandma...I never sign myself... love from family member!!!

So if something is rather Iffy DON'T (DON@T) click!

If it's genuine they will email again.
put is tis way lasse if i get 1 guna bin
hoax or not
n i aint willing to find out

PATRIOT73
20th July 2008, 06:27 PM
Beg pardon, I stand corrected. The Hallmark one has been a long running hoax, however, that clearly doesn't rule out a 'live' one.
like u say if its a long runnin 1
folk will get complicent n open it

victorfrank
20th July 2008, 06:32 PM
Many thanks for the warning.

mamasybaby
20th July 2008, 07:36 PM
Ive recieved this email twice in the last year, when I clicked on the link my computer picked it up and wouldnt let me access it, but as previously said it said it was from hallmark and a family member had sent a card

Fossy
21st July 2008, 07:30 AM
Dont people on here use Virus Checkers or keep them up to date?????

Spyder1942
21st July 2008, 08:22 AM
Check every day

papagran40
21st July 2008, 05:51 PM
Hi Fossy , I have more virus checkers than I now what to do with and the are all running ... all the time...my PC has 2 or 3 scans a day ...it might be a bit slow...but so far ... it is SAFE...like Ken said...do not click on an email link....Papa.